Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey,

I'm in my last year of my English degree and in one of my classes i have the option of re-creating a medieval play instead of doing an essay. I gathered some friends together and we are performing 'The Fall of Lucifer' (i get to play God ) I had to translate the play but we are really enjoying it.

I was wondering what other people thought of Medieval drama, and if many have came across it,whether it be folk drama or not. It's just this era used to be called in universities 'Drama before Shakespeare', which is just laughable and cruel. I do love Shakespeare a lot and have been to many performances, but there's just this horrible notion that drama before it in England was primitive and unsophisticated.

So have many encountered it? Even in studies, like the Chester/York cycles etc? And what is your opinion of it?

ReputationRep:
    Last year (I'm doing an English degree too), I studied medieval drama, and we put on a production of Everyman at the end for a bit of fun. I played 'Beauty' - I'm not sure if that's a compliment or not.

I agree that medieval drama can actually be very sophisticated, and people shouldn't write it off. There is a tendency to think that English drama began in the Renaissance, which is wrong, and it's definitely a good thing that people are studying drama of the period.

Personally, though, I hate medieval drama.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by geetar)
    Last year (I'm doing an English degree too), I studied medieval drama, and we put on a production of Everyman at the end for a bit of fun. I played 'Beauty' - I'm not sure if that's a compliment or not.

I agree that medieval drama can actually be very sophisticated, and people shouldn't write it off. There is a tendency to think that English drama began in the Renaissance, which is wrong, and it's definitely a good thing that people are studying drama of the period.

Personally, though, I hate medieval drama.