Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Extended Project Qualification or an extra A2 level? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am currently studying Biology, Chemistry, Maths and Psychology at AS level and I am going to apply to study Medicine in October.

I would like to drop Psychology after AS and start an Extended Project Qualification (our college has a new rule whereby you have to either continue on with 4 A2 levels, drop one and take EPQ, drop one and take Critical Thinking, or drop one and take OCR Text Processing..) and my Dad has got me worried that this might not be the best decision? Any advice would be very welcome!

ReputationRep:
    I would go for EPQ another A2 just puts added pressure on and it's kind of worthless as you only need 3 A2 levels. Although EPQ is suppose to get you extra UCAS points which medical schools don't use, it gives you something to talk about, makes your application different. Critical thinking is just useless as most medical schools just ignore it. I'm not familiar with OCR text processing so I can't comment on that. But if I were you I would do EPQ.

I'm also thinking of applying next year and I'm hopefully going to do EPQ.

ReputationRep:
    I want to do marine biology/ ecology. I'm doing AS bio, chem, math and geog but'll probably drop maths and may pick up the EPQ, which is a new thing my college will be starting from september.

ReputationRep:
    Personally i think it would be better to do the EPQ ONLY if you are able to choose a good topic relevant to medicine if not then i think you would be wasting your time and you would be better off doing an extra a level.

ReputationRep:
    I'd do the EPQ- it can be fairly interesting (if you want it to be), will give you something to talk about in interviews and takes up far less time than an A2.

ReputationRep:
    EPQ