Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I am currently a student at university and wanted to change course at this university. I went to see an education advisor on 14th January who told me I needed to apply through UCAS but there was no need to put that I am already a student in the education section as it is the same university.

I was then rejected from that university and applied through Extra to another university where I received an unconditional.

I have now found out I could have my offer withdrawn for not declaring my education at this university (although I will be withdrawing this week)

What do you suggest I do? Ring the new university and tell them? As I never intentionally set out to deceive them as I have mentioned my current education on my Occupational Health form and if I had been advised correctly I would have declared it...

I'm really worried they will take my offer from me even though this was a complete mistake and I'm now really starting to panic as I never meant to do anything wrong.

Someone please help!

ReputationRep:
    You need to call the new university and just be honest with them.

I would follow this phone call up via email and CC in the educational advisor from your current university. They need to be fully aware that they are giving incorrect information to students and there are serious consequences of this, as you've found out. I would recommend you get the educational advisor at your current university to contact the new one and reiterate that they gave you the wrong advice, as you should have included that you were still at university regardless of whether it was your current university or a new one.

Good luck

ReputationRep:
    Thanks for replying

I have no idea of the name of this person anymore, it was months ago and they don't have email addresses as far as I am aware, but I'll follow that bit up later