Turn on thread page Beta

I need to know what the hell I'm doing. watch

ReputationRep:
    Right, I feel a bit intimated and reluctant posting on a sub-forum full of people who actually know what they are doing. I'll get this out of the way - I'm a noob. Up until about August last year I did little to no exercise and was quite skinny. But then a friend convinced me to come to the gym and that he would take me through the same plan he uses.

Well, 8 months later, I'm much more motivated. I can see astounding the effects in my chest, arms and my stomach is showing a better physique (no abs though).

Although my problem is that I don't 'know' what's good - I've just been doing what my friend has been telling me. Despite putting more muscle on in certain areas my rib outlines are still visible through the skin (not as much as it was, mind, but still quite noticeable) which I take to mean that I'm still skinny. I'm also not seeing any progress in the stomach/abdominal area - it's just kind of flat and there's no 'abs' to show off, if you know what I mean. I'm 9 stone 5, and according to

http://lowcarbdiets.about.com/librar...calculator.htm

I have a body fat percentage of 8.4%. Although I've taken many different tests and they all give me different answers....what's the best calculator?

So I was wondering if some of you guys could judge this plan my friend uses. I trust him well, but I need to know how to tone my abs to a much better standard and also become much less skinnier in the upper chest area.

I go to the gym three times a week. The first involves the 'pushes' routine;

Chest

Bench Press
    Incline Bench Press

Shoulders/Upper Back

Shoulder Press

Triceps
    Tricep Pulldown

Core
    Abdominal Crunches
    Alternating Side Bends

Second - the 'pull' routine;

Shoulders/Upper Back

Shoulder Shrugs
    Lat Pulldown
    Bent Over Wide Grip Rowing
    Wide Front Raise

Biceps

EZ Bar Curls

Core

Good Morning