The Student Room Group

Investment/Fund/Asset management or consultancy? What suits me better?!

I am a 2nd Year Physicist who intends on taking a graduate diploma in economics after doing a 3 year course at a top university.

At school I have done a range of things: Marketing director of a Young Enterprise company, almost taken Media Studies to AS level (switched it for FM half way through :colone:), was in charge of a Physics and Engineering Society and in for a couple of years was interested in making media (films, adverts, posters, marketing, etc)

So from the list it sounds like I'd be suited to consultancy as I do have an interest in business and solving problems using creative approaches. Not so into number crunching...

However, I have always been a shy person and have only been coming out of that shell over the past couple of years at Uni. This, I feel would hold me back in a consultancy job unless I opened up even more over the course of the next year, but I can imagine giving important presentations to clients and working in teams for extended periods of time becoming very tiring and stressful to me...

So... I like the sound of asset management because I'd be researching businesses, perhaps applying the economic theory I'd gain from the graduate diploma and there's less of a social pressure involved (perhaps)

Any advice or perhaps personal accounts would be ever so useful
Cheers
Reply 1
i'll offer an example...your one year into your grad training program at an AM firm, you don't know what you don't know and you actually know even less.
your given one week to put together a presentation on a company. you have to present it to the chief investment offer and the investment committee.