How do you become an Airline Pilot in the UK ?! Watch

pizzapino
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hi guys,

I am a French student and I've been offered a place by the University of Bristol, the University of Bath, the University of Sheffield, the University of Surrey. for an Meng Aeronautical engineering course. And I was which uni to firm ?

Also, I have a few questions concerning the job of civil pilot in the UK.
- How do you become a pilot after having a degree in Aerospace engineering ?
- Is it expensive ?
- Which schools prepare best for this job ? Have links with airline companies... ?

Thank you very much for your help !
Pendulum
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by pizzapino)
Hi guys,

I am a French student and I've been offered a place by the University of Bristol, the University of Bath, the University of Sheffield, the University of Surrey. for an Meng Aeronautical engineering course. And I was which uni to firm ?

- Is it expensive ?
- Which schools prepare best for this job ? Have links with airline companies... ?

You can become a Pilot after obtaining your ATPL although you will still need to train for airline specific craft when you join an airline, you don't need a degree to train for a pilot. ATPL costs in the region of £70000 in the UK, so yes it's expensive. Costs are cheaper abroad though.

A lot of new pilots get jobs with Easyjet, Ryanair & other budget airlines on six month contracts, this is because they pay significantly less and it's more a first step in your flight career than a permanent job. Salaries are around £35k for a newly qualified first officer but this isn't actually indicative of what you will earn as it varies wildly on the season. Captains of long haul flights at BA for example can earn in excess of £200k in the end.

http://www.oaa.com/index.php

If being a pilot is 100% what you want to do, you're wasting your time going to university really.
pizzapino
Rep:
?