How do you get to USA as a British Student? Watch

Explosive Casualty
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hey, Im a British student, I have 10 GCSE's and the IB's [one more year] under my belt, and im interested in getting to the states for university.

Ive been told there is such thing as ''introductory courses'' - a 2 year program in which generally everyone takes to do core courses that have nothing to do with the Major you are doing.

Is there any way in skipping them? I am looking to do a bachelors degree in something science/technical related - still yet to choose the major - therefore i believe this 2 year thing is a waste of my time.

So anyone know?
Teao the Cat
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
It's general ed, and as far as I know, everyone must take them, although you go get a choice from a list sort of thing. Like, you must take one from the sciences group/languages group and so on.
PorridgeMonster
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Pretty sure the introductory courses are done along side your main subject meaning you cant just not do them. I think i heard somewhere they are just maths and english/history so you need to have a high enough qualification in those 3 to even get a placement. However im not 100% on all of this so dont take my word.
Explosive Casualty
Rep:
?
Hmm, are you saying that the introductory courses will not affect the number of years i will be in Uni?

For example, I was under the impression that the 2 years were added on [so if i was doing a regular bachelor degree, is 4+2 not just 4 years]
bluesky42
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
I think it's just one extra year. I'm guessing places like MIT would be more science focussed anyway so you'd have to do fewer humanities classes.
Explosive Casualty
Rep:
?
Yeah, it the humanities like history or whatever i really dont need - especially US history - i mean i am a british scientist, i dont need all that >.>
Teao the Cat
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago