Is this a good return? Watch

TheArsenal
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hi im an AS level economics student and in our class we had to invest in shares in the FTSE 100 earlier in the year, with the person who makes the most getting a prize.

It is set to last until July, starting in Feb and currently i have made 6.2% investing in 6 companies. I have had 74 days so far and was basically wondering if this was a good attempt for someone who has never done this before and never really loooked at the markets. It was of course virtual. Thanks.
Zürich
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by TheArsenal)
Hi im an AS level economics student and in our class we had to invest in shares in the FTSE 100 earlier in the year, with the person who makes the most getting a prize.

It is set to last until July, starting in Feb and currently i have made 6.2% investing in 6 companies. I have had 74 days so far and was basically wondering if this was a good attempt for someone who has never done this before and never really loooked at the markets. It was of course virtual. Thanks.
Depends if you were gambling or investing.
TheArsenal
Rep:
?
(Original post by Zürich)
Depends if you were gambling or investing.
Investing
viksta1000
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
are you calculating the risk or just going....'that one'?
username547863
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Thats a decent return. Trading forex i ussualy make between 5-20% a month return (if its a winning month of course)
TheArsenal
Rep:
?
(Original post by viksta1000)
are you calculating the risk or just going....'that one'?
Well i considered the companies basically im not sure how to calculate risk.
TheArsenal
Rep:
?
(Original post by NGC773)
Thats a decent return. Trading forex i ussualy make between 5-20% a month return (if its a winning month of course)
Sorry im an amature, what does forex mean? And is there an actual calculation to work out the risk involved? cheers
qwerty12345678