Need your opinions (Gold as measurement?) Watch

battosai
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
So people, to keep it short I posted on a forum that has nothin to do with finance that it might now be a good time for which you want to order something from the U.S., as the € / $ change is favourable for us now. Well, and then I was for what ever reason attacked from all sides. Here the main posts: (i am sorry of the translation is bad, but was orginally in german and I used google translator + some minor correction)

Guy1 : And now I throw my comment once more to the euro is not really strong.
The dollar is just exceptionally weak.
Compared with other currencies, the euro is not really strong, he has indeed tightened somewhat, but isn't really worth anything.
And I say this now not because I'm studying finance, but because I have to do it professionally and watched for some time now.

Me: My God ...
Yes, the € is weak or "stable", it is only the $ taht goes downhill .. thanks to QE2 among others.
But again, the goal was not to see a financial discussion ...

Guy2: The ratio of these two colorful papers to each other may be true, and thus relative to U.S. orders still be interesting - but in overall € is just as **** as the $.(For this reason I personally only look at the gold and silver prices) So you can make this as simple and tell the world the € is strong.

Me: Why would you look on gold / silver prices .. which are only pushed up because the is going downhill ... Both are listed in $ .. Euro, Yuan, CHF, etc. .. are stronger (compared with the $). Investors therefore can buy "more" gold-silver. More demand = price increase ..
then of course the "sovereign debt" risk in the U.S., EU and Japan, the investors buy the precious metals for hedge purposes etc...