The Student Room Group

I am absolutely disgusted at Ireland's advert

I've just seen the advert for Discover Ireland, and they included the Giant's Causeway. The Giant's Causeway is in the United Kingdom, not the Republic. I am absolutely disgusted that they seek to subvert British rule in the North by supplanting ideas that Northern Irish icons are actually part of the Rebublic.

Would I have a case with the Advertising Standards Authority?

Scroll to see replies

Oh shutup.
Reply 2
u mad
Reply 3
get over it
Reply 4
It's an advert for the whole of ireland it would only be misleading if it was for the republic but then showed stuff from N.I.
Reply 5
I am a lawyer. Yes
Reply 6
Original post by janco

No, but give the chaps a good old chuckle, they probably don't get funnier complaints than this ****.

Also the Giant's Causeway IS in Ireland, incase you never saw a map in your life and are not so good at Geography.
Well if you go on the discoverireland website, you'll see it talks about Northern Ireland too?

EDIT: As in, the whole of the island called Ireland. It's just split up into two, much like Haiti and Dominican Republic both being on Hispaniola
(edited 12 years ago)
Reply 8
keep your disgust to yourself.
Reply 9
Original post by chrislpp
No, but give the chaps a good old chuckle, they probably don't get funnier complaints than this ****.

Also the Giant's Causeway IS in Ireland, incase you never saw a map in your life and are not so good at Geography.

Its actually in Northern Ireland
Discover Ireland is a joint venture between the tourist boards for the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland.

:console:
Reply 11
Original post by janco
I've just seen the advert for Discover Ireland, and they included the Giant's Causeway. The Giant's Causeway is in the United Kingdom, not the Republic. I am absolutely disgusted that they seek to subvert British rule in the North by supplanting ideas that Northern Irish icons are actually part of the Rebublic.

NO! lol