The Student Room Group

Psychology or English lit for A Level?

Need to decide whether to do Psychology or English lit for A Level. I've already chosen Biology, Chemistry, Maths and Statistics and I don't know which one of the two to take.
Which one is more respected? Which one is harder? Which one is the more interesting choice? thank youu :smile:
English is more respected, but be warned I am a straight A student and got a U in English, that's not to say everybody does but it is hard and very weird to get into.

It depends if you're really passionate.

Pyschology would be way mroe interesting anyway.

Good luck!
Reply 2
I'd say English Lit- I started out doing Psychology and switched to Lit because it was so flipping boring! But with English it's a lot weirder, especially if you're on AQA. Our teacher told us that national average for the January exam was one mark into the D range, so be prepared for weird exam technique.
It's completely up to you, I don't think any is more/less respected and you are encouraged to choose something that interests you personally. I do English language and literature at degree level but that's because English has always been my favourite subject and I'm rather good at it. I did both psychology and english language and literature at A-level and both were interesting to me so I guess it depends on the individual. Obviously if you enjoy it, it's easier to you naturally :smile: Good luck in whatever you choose, but it has to be your decision, not someone on here's decision. You're the one that has to deal with it.
Reply 4
I do Psych and English (comb. though) and I prefer English by a mile. However, I've always loved the English side of the curriculum at school and wasn't as good at the maths/science side. Psychology does have some scientific elements in it so it depends which you prefer, it's pretty subjective!
Reply 5