Turn on thread page Beta

What are the advantages of Student Exchange Programs? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    When uni students get an opportunity to study abroad for a semester or two, they are said to gain an international experience in higher studies. Does this point of Student Exchange Program make any difference in enhancing one's CV and impress employers after graduation?

I'm currently studying in my home country and hopefully going to be enrolled in an Australian uni next year (via Malaysia, i.e. Years 1 & 2 in Malaysia branch campus and Year 3 & 4 in Australia campus). So I'll be experiencing the three worlds (Bangladesh, Malaysia, and Australia). And if I can do well in exams and can maintain a higher credit average, I can get an opportunity to study in University of Surrey(UK) for one or two semesters (in Year 3 pro'ly) as part of Student Exchange Programme. If that can be possible for me, then I can experience the UK uni education too. So what I want to know here is whether it is going to make any difference to my 4-yr undergrad qualification if I can manage to study in 3 or 4 different places of the world?

Besides gaining international experiences, what other advantages can you think of from a Student Exchange Program?

Cheers,
    Ashique

ReputationRep:
    When we got "the talk" recently from the international office about going on an exchange year abroad, aside from the benefits you already mentioned their big selling point was the personal experience aspect. Most people would pick a country they'd love to go to, rather than being sent somewhere so it's more about having a year long semi vacation in a place you've wanted to go to for ages.