Advice on making it as an officer in RAF Watch

therichcrew
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 13 years ago
Hello Everybody,

I am new to this forum, but I have read it quite a lot over the past few days and would love to join in.

I have a few questions to kind of introduce myself etc.
I want to join the RAF as an officer and I was wondering if I could have a few questions by those in the know (particularly Wzzz, with the RAF experience and Gemma, who is obviously a girl who has recently been successful.. well done!! and GR4Pilot who seems very nice). I thought of trying to join as a Supply Officer, but I heard that this position was closed for the moment, but if it isn't I would still like to apply for that position.

The questions I have are:

1: I am a woman, 22, and I am in my final year at University doing Journalism. I was in the CCF for a year when I was a teenager, but apart from that I have no other experience in the Air Cadets. My brother is in the Army though and I know a lot of people who have been and are in the forces so I am not entirely clueless as to what it all entails. Is all this a disadvantage or will they accept candidates who haven't been in the CCF. Also is a journalism degree a disadvantage? I did the degree because I wanted a degree behind me and I am extremely interested in current affairs, I am at one of the best journalism training colleges though so I am glad I did it.

2: Are the RAF looking for the same Officer qualities in a woman as a man?

3: Are the main Officer qualities really as they are layed out on the RAF website?

4: I am quite fit, but I am not a sportswoman, is this a disadvantage?

5: I would like to join as a Supply Officer, but more than anything I am interested in being an Officer in the RAF, would it be a disadvantage to be flexible with job role, or will I simply look like I am not committed.