Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

Accommodation: Your Questions Asked! (NOW WITH PICTURES!!!) Watch

University Navigation

ReputationRep:
    Hi there. I’m currently studying BSc Economics at Sheffield University, and am about to finish my first year. I thought I’d create this little guide to accommodation, along with some photos of the flats. If you have any questions, quote me and I’ll give you a reply!

I’m currently living in the Howden block in the Endcliffe Village, and most of this information will apply to all the new blocks in Endcliffe and Ranmoor. In particular, the information specifically applies to the following blocks:

Endcliffe Village:
    Howden, Derwent, Stanage, Burbage, Rivelin, Yarncliffe, Froggatt, Lawrencefield, Millstone, Curbar

Ranmoor Village:
    Kinder, Windgather, Wimberry, Ramshaw, Ravenstones, Laddow

General information about the buildings:
    The buildings are all of a similar design, and are arranged into flats, and were all constructed in the last 3 years or so. The Endcliffe Village opened in September 2008, and the Ranmoor Village (as far as I’m aware) opened in September 2009.

How Will I Know Where I’m Living?
    When you get your results and confirm your place at Sheffield, you will be able to find out your accommodation allocation through the accommodation section on the Sheffield website, in the same place that you used to applied for accommodation.

How Many People Will Be In My Flat?
    They typically range from 3 people to 12. Most flats I’ve come across are 6, 8, or 10 people. In Howden, for example, most of the flats hold 8 people.

How Do I Know Which Floor I’m On?

Simple: The number of the flat corresponds to the floor, with 1 being the ground floor. The letter is the section of the block, or the entrance that you will use. So D1, for example, is in the D section of the building, and on the ground floor.