Student Finance England - Compelling Personal Reasons - Please help!

Watch
This discussion is closed.
marieh
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 years ago
Hi,

I'm wondering if anyone is able to shed a bit of light on the Student Finance England compelling personal reasons?

I studied for one year at University of Manchester (BA International Business and French) and left at the end of the year after failing my french modules. I then started at the University of Sheffield doing just BA Business Studies. However, after starting University I found out (at end of September) that I was pregnant. As my daughter was due on 2nd June (during term time) I realised I would be unable to complete the year and being a long way from friends and family decided to leave University to start preparations for the new arrival. I was also no longer receiving financial support from my parents as they were so disappointed to find out I was pregnant so in actual fact I was unable to stay anyway due to lack of financial resources.

I have applied to start a 3year Bed course at the University of Hertfordshire in September of this year. I spoke to call centre advisors at SFE and they advised that my year at the University of Sheffield would not be included as I left due to compelling personal reasons (pregnancy). I was told my entitlement would be length of the course plus one year (4yrs) minus past study not including CPR year (1 year) which would leave me with the 3yrs funding for my course. I submitted a doctors letter along with my daughters birth certificate to SFE but they have written to me to say that as their records show I left Uni at end of September and I had my daughter on 8th June they were unable to accept this as compelling personal reasons. I don't understand why its not being accepted.

Am absolutely devastated as without the tuition fee loan I will be unable to accept the place at University!

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Marie
missy22