The Student Room Group

PgDip/MA Social Work

Hello, sorry if this has been discussed before. I searched the forums and couldn't see anything.

I have a degree in English and graduated two years ago. I did English at uni because I had no idea what I wanted to do careerwise, but for the past two years I have been working in various settings with children and young people who have severe learning disabilities. I absolutely love it. I applied for teacher training and did not get it due to lack of experience (no mainstream exp) and then got a job as a residential childcare worker at a shortbreaks childrens home (we provide respite for families with children who have SLD, so no day is the same.) It's a great job, but there is no progression there and we were also told that we may be closed down next year.
This has made me re-evaluate career choice. I'm lucky enough to work closely with teachers, social workers and other professionals in my job and as I cannot do teacher training because I cannot afford it, I feel social work would be a good step to take next.
I was just wondering whether anyone else has gone down this pgdip route, what it was like etc? I looked up bursaries but couldn't find the exact amount you would be given. I will be emailing universities regarding this too but I'd like to hear about peoples experiences as well.

Sorry for the essay! Thanks.