The Student Room Group
School of Oriental and African Studies
London

Transferring to SOAS

I'm a first year student at Newcastle doing Chinese and cultural studies, and I'm not enjoying it at all. I LOVE chinese, but hate cultural studies, and Newcastle Uni doesn't do chinese on its own. It is due to this that I want to swap to SOAS to do Chinese. Ideally I would start from year 2, but being that that's the year abroad, I don't know how possible that would be. Anyone know if I could swap to SOAS and start directly in year 2? If so, how do I do that?

Also, do you recommend SOAS for Chinese? I'm pretty sure it's much better than Newcastle which is crap. But is the Uni itself good to go to?
Reply 1
E-mail them, you never know.
School of Oriental and African Studies
London
Reply 2
I have, but office is closed until January 3rd.
Reply 3
Ergh... ah well, patience is a virtue. Hope it works out for you anyway.

Oh dear god, I sound like my mother :eek:
Reply 4
when they can spend 1 year in china with cheaper living costs and excell chinese both in speaking and writing, why do you study for a chinese degree in England?
SOAS only does chinese as a side course, independent from the university course itself. if you transfer there im pretty sure you'll be doing a hell of a lot of culture.....but i may be wrong.
Reply 6
no, of course you can study chinese as a part of your degree (or as your whole degree) at soas. dont know if you can transfer though. remember that the second year of chinese is spent in beijing.
^^ dude what i meant was that the chinese degree at SOAS contains tons of culture as well as language
ThunderCat8
Ideally I would start from year 2, but being that that's the year abroad, I don't know how possible that would be.

Im not 100% sure but i believe the SOAS year abroad is in year 3.
Anyone know if I could swap to SOAS and start directly in year 2? If so, how do I do that?