The Student Room Group

Acting? The website Starnow.co.uk?

I was thinking about getting into some sort of acting roles, as in, in advertisements, and as an extra, hopefully building up some sort of respectful acting career, either as a side part to my own, or perhaps even full time.

I don't know how to essentially get into it though, and find acting jobs. Is the website Starnow.co.uk good? Have any of you actors here used this? Is it reliable?

The problem is, I have no acting experience, and I didn't do drama at school, because I didn't have the confidence at the time. But, now I do. In school I was fat, now im relatively fit and athletic, which might work in my favour.

Can anyone shed any light on this?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Generally they will want experience for big acting jobs - but if you get lucky you can get hired as a complete unknown. Starnow isn't that great, in my experience it spams your inbox. Most of them do - I'm currently in the same situation, although I'm now putting it on the side to study acting or performance at university (or nursing if I go for something completely different) and then trying to enter the industry with more experience. Perhaps you could do this?
Reply 2
Original post by madders94
Generally they will want experience for big acting jobs - but if you get lucky you can get hired as a complete unknown. Starnow isn't that great, in my experience it spams your inbox. Most of them do - I'm currently in the same situation, although I'm now putting it on the side to study acting or performance at university (or nursing if I go for something completely different) and then trying to enter the industry with more experience. Perhaps you could do this?