Can I self-teach the violin? Watch

Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
I'm 19 and I've always wanted to play the violin since I was a child but was never given the opportunity. Now an adult I want to re-kindling the things that I've longed to do before I regret it. I can't afford violin lessons and the nearest teachers are centuries away, however, I am willing to put in a lot of effort into teaching myself the violin, I'm not naive I know it'll be very difficult but I'll determined to put the work in. Do you of any books/sources I could use to give me a boost in the right direction? Do you know of anyone who has self-taught the violin, did they succeed?
Jaqera
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
Of course you can!

I recommend using the internet, especially YouTube. Hundreds of others would have asked the same question and I am certain people have made lessons aimed for people such as yourself!
Rep:
?
(Original post by Jaqera)
Of course you can!

I recommend using the internet, especially YouTube. Hundreds of others would have asked the same question and I am certain people have made lessons aimed for people such as yourself!
Out of interest, are you a violinist?

I've googled 'self-teach violin' and quite a lot of professional violinists say it's near impossible to self-teach the violin as the instruments it so fine and intricate that even tuning the violin years of practice. I doubt the university that I'll soon be going to will have many violin players. All this sounds disheartening and I don't know where to turn. I was hoping to buy a violin but I'm not too sure anymore
planetconwy1
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by Can't Touch This.)