"If it's irony you're aiming for, you might need to make it a bit clearer"

Watch
This discussion is closed.
Surfing Hamster
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 16 years ago
"If it's irony you're aiming for, you might need to make it a bit clearer" - a comment from my English Lecturer noted on a coursework piece.

Any suggestions on how to make the irony clearer in this snippet?

"Societies range from the ridiculously sublime tiddlywinks club to the heated charms of the debating society; both of which have achieved a surprisingly high status among students."
elpaw
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
your teacher is right, that doesnt sound very ironic.

as for improving it, well im hopeless at english! im a physicist for gordon bennnet's sake!
chrisbphd
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
(Original post by Surfing Hamster)
"If it's irony you're aiming for, you might need to make it a bit clearer" - a comment from my English Lecturer noted on a coursework piece.

"Societies range from the ridiculously sublime tiddlywinks club to the heated charms of the debating society; both of which have achieved a surprisingly high status among students."
I find your avatar offensive. What if somebody did have epilepsy?
Surfing Hamster
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 16 years ago
(Original post by chrisbphd)
Hmm..I see what you mean.

Maybe I should make my font bigger for people with poor eyesight, and enhance the contrast?

Get over it! :rolleyes:
Ben.S.
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
(Original post by chrisbphd)
Then the answer would be, 'yes'.

Ben
llama boy
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
Societies range from the ridiculously sublime tiddlywinks club to the heated charms of the debating society; both of which have achieved a surprisingly high status among students."