Turn on thread page Beta

"If it's irony you're aiming for, you might need to make it a bit clearer" watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    "If it's irony you're aiming for, you might need to make it a bit clearer" - a comment from my English Lecturer noted on a coursework piece.

Any suggestions on how to make the irony clearer in this snippet?

"Societies range from the ridiculously sublime tiddlywinks club to the heated charms of the debating society; both of which have achieved a surprisingly high status among students."

ReputationRep:
    your teacher is right, that doesnt sound very ironic.

as for improving it, well im hopeless at english! im a physicist for gordon bennnet's sake!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Surfing Hamster)
    "If it's irony you're aiming for, you might need to make it a bit clearer" - a comment from my English Lecturer noted on a coursework piece.

"Societies range from the ridiculously sublime tiddlywinks club to the heated charms of the debating society; both of which have achieved a surprisingly high status among students."
    I find your avatar offensive. What if somebody did have epilepsy?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by chrisbphd)
    Hmm..I see what you mean.

Maybe I should make my font bigger for people with poor eyesight, and enhance the contrast?

Get over it! :rolleyes:

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by chrisbphd)
    Then the answer would be, 'yes'.

Ben

ReputationRep:
    Societies range from the ridiculously sublime tiddlywinks club to the heated charms of the debating society; both of which have achieved a surprisingly high status among students."
    Societies range from the sublime yet enticing tiddlywinks club to the heated attraction of the debating society; both of which have achieved a high status among students that can only be described as "perplexing".

ReputationRep:

*windblows tumble weed*

don't see the irony at all

maybe you should pick on something more obscure than debating.