Sports Dissertation Ideas Watch

mad_about_alice
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
Hi

I'm a Sports Management student going into my 3rd year. Other than knowing I want to write my dissertation on sport rather than management I'm a bit stuck!

If anyone has any ideas for a subject - however general or specific- I'd be grateful to hear them!

Thanks!
dylantombides
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by mad_about_alice)
Hi

I'm a Sports Management student going into my 3rd year. Other than knowing I want to write my dissertation on sport rather than management I'm a bit stuck!

If anyone has any ideas for a subject - however general or specific- I'd be grateful to hear them!

Thanks!
What sports management like and where are you studying it? I'm interested in doing it next year. Sorry it doesn't answer your question.
py0alb
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
Well, what sports are you interested in?

Off the top of my head:

you could question whether the UCCE's are good value for money and investigate the number of professional players that are produced by those universities now in comparison to other universities and to the previous system.

Or you could ask why English domestic rugby union insists on having its most important events (cup finals, end of season and playoffs) at the exact same time that the sports media is too busy covering the end of the football season to notice.

Or you could ask why Olympic basketball and ice hockey have a high profile whereas Olympic football (soccer) doesn't.

Or why one ubiquitous UK pub sport - darts - is a huge tv success story, but another one - 8 ball pool - remains virtually unwatched.
white_haired_wizard
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
How the (paying) public are becoming increasingly detached from the world professional footballers operate in?

you can talk about the different social and economic worlds footballers live/operate in, compared to the everyday Joe...