Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am an IT student that want to venture into computer programming. Which of the languages is best for me to start with. And how do I start using it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by jettaud)
    I am an IT student that want to venture into computer programming. Which of the languages is best for me to start with. And how do I start using it.
    Without a doubt C.
    :cool:

You can get a copy of Microsoft VC++ which is the best compiler for Windows or Borland Builder; if you are going to program in Linux then you only need gcc which is Open Source.

ReputationRep:
    Lol, throw him in at the deep end .

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by jettaud)
    Lisp, preferably scheme.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Nylex)
    Lol, throw him in at the deep end .
    I think that C\C++ is the best high level language and the best learning method should be learning first structured programming with C and then learning the OOP paradigm with C++.

By the way your signature is absolutely right

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Eternal Idol)
    I think that C\C++ is the best high level language and the best learning method should be learning first structured programming with C and then learning the OOP paradigm with C++.

By the way your signature is absolutely right
    Hehe, it was one of the quotes from this forum. Why not get him to start with Java? No scary stuff like pointers or multiple inheritance!

ReputationRep:
    I think C is a good language to start with because it gets you into good habbits however it dosn't teach you stuff like strings.

A lot of people say Pascal or Liberty Basic is a good place to start, Pascal is better than Liberty Basic. I just feel C may be a little bit confusing for the absolute beginner.

Blitz Basic is a fun langauge to start learning with however I think it will just teach you too many bad habbits such as GOTO.