Turn on thread page Beta

University Fees at £9000 and the economy watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    As a 2012 University student I will be paying the £9000 fees. I was just wondering if someone could explain why the government are doing this and how this relates to the economy. I understand that competition will be increased but I dont fully know why. Thanks for the help in advance

ReputationRep:
    Because current degrees are subsidised by the government. So currently students pay £3000 for their degree and the government puts in the rest.

Under the new system the government will be removing their subsidies to save money. Therefore universities have no choice but to charge £9000 to make up the shortfall.

ReputationRep:
    It's going to cost the SLC a ton of money in the short term.

But yeah the government is cutting most HE funding.

I'd have like to see funding cut but no fee increases. Too much is made of the competitiveness.

ReputationRep:
    It has nothing to do with the economic situation because the fee rise has no short term benefit.

Competition is not being increased because the vast majority of unis will be charging the same amount.

edit: The only reason the fees are being introduced is because they're a way of further taxing the middle class, without increasing taxes on rich business owners.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by S.Pink)
    As a 2012 University student I will be paying the £9000 fees. I was just wondering if someone could explain why the government are doing this and how this relates to the economy.
    Have you been living under a rock for the last 2-3 years?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by electriic_ink)
    It has nothing to do with the economic situation because the fee rise has no short term benefit.

Competition is not being increased because the vast majority of unis will be charging the same amount.