Turn on thread page Beta

It's always been my life plan to go to University, it's what I've been leading up to for so many years, and I thought it was going to be the best time of my life.. Within the space of a few days I've realised that this is not the case. I'm in a flat with mostly international students, and mostly boys (I'm a girl).. They eat in their rooms and barely speak to me. Each night I sit at my desk and look out of the window and I can see other flats all sitting round the kitchen table together enjoying themselves. There is another flat in the same block which I visit sometimes, but I don't want to constantly be there or tag along. I'm quite a long way from home, and back there I have some amazing friends, and it's really hard being away from them. I like to drink and socialize, and go to the cinema, meals, normal activities, but at the moment I don't really have anyone to do that with. The other flats here tend to go shopping together and get ingredients together, whereas I go alone on the bus. At the moment, getting a degree is not worth how lonely I've been feeling, it has been one of the worst couple of weeks of my life. I have no idea what to do? People advised that I'd start to meet people on my course, which started yesterday, however this is difficult as it seems that people have already started making friends. I do intend to join societies, however again, most people here seem to socialize in their flats. I'm really demotivated and don't care about anything at the moment, I feel depressed. I've asked my course tutor to get in touch with the accommodation office to see if I can move, but no luck yet.
    Really close to dropping out, as much as I don't want to, I feel physically unhappy.
    Any advice?
    Thanks for reading this much!

ReputationRep:
    Hello. I also am starting at university, though I must admit i'm having a very good time. However, this hasn't come without difficulty.