Turn on thread page Beta

Think I'm going to struggle a lot :( watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm an international student and started med school a few days back, nd I think I'm going to struggle badly.

I seem to have no friends and i don't seem to understand the lectures.

the friends bit, I'm pretty confident I'll get after a few days or weeks at least.
    But the studying part.!!!
    everyone else seems to be scribbling off notes whereas I just wait clueless on what to write and find it hard to understand, what can I do?

help needed urgently.

ReputationRep:
    Have you looked into whether your uni offers study help sessions? We were offered classes on how to take notes, and how to study independently, through the Student Support department.

What is it you don't understand? The concepts, or the language, or what? If you're confused about how a lecturer is explaining something, you can either email them or ask them after the lecture to clarify it for you.

You can't be the only one struggling, so try talking to people at the start/end of lectures - there will be other international students who are probably also struggling, as well as local students who are just writing absolutely everything down in the vague hope that it might make sense later.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Becca-Sarah)
    Have you looked into whether your uni offers study help sessions? We were offered classes on how to take notes, and how to study independently, through the Student Support department.

What is it you don't understand? The concepts, or the language, or what? If you're confused about how a lecturer is explaining something, you can either email them or ask them after the lecture to clarify it for you.