Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

So basically I have started a language course. It turns out that this first semester I take 4 and a half modules. Only 1 and a half is my actual language. The other three are top up modules in which I have little to no interest. In semester two this changes to, again 1 and half modules of language, a cultural module and ANOTHER top up module in a subject that is nothing to do with my own.

Basically I fear that the amount of language I will be able to practice will decrease greatly due to the amount of time and effort I will have to put into the other modules to at least pass them (though I would want to do well) and that also I won't learn that much at all language wise, which is why I picked this course.

I love the city I'm in and I like my room and don't miss home at all really. I get on with all my flatmates and the course mates I have met and feel pretty damned settled (also I am a mature student technically so I'm pretty okay about being away from my home town).

What can I do? Should I drop this course? Change it? Pursue the language separately after my degree?

Sorry for the text wall. Haha!

ReputationRep:
    What exactly are the top up modules? I would at least give it a try for a few months, and perhaps look up how much of the language you do in year two? I certainly wouldn't drop out in the first week.

ReputationRep:
    you could probably ask your course admin if theres any chance of switching to a more language focused course, if you don't want to do the other stuff

ReputationRep:
    Talk to your course leader / personal tutor / whoever they tell you to see about things and put the point across that the course is really not what you thought.
    If you are going to change course, the time is now, you cannot leave it until several weeks into the term without having to do some considerable catch up.