The Global Debt Crisis. Is anyone concerned? Watch

dottjt
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
I've been studying this bad boy for well over 6 months and put simply: the world is screwed. America have 55 trillion dollars worth of debt and their yearly deficit is nearing 50% of the budget.

- 43 million Americans live by food stamps and that number is rapidly increasing. The number of unemployed American's has been steadily increasing.

- Europe is a financial time bomb waiting to happen. Greece is on the verge of default and it's going to lead to the destruction of the Euro and everything else in it's path as the effects ricochet across the world.

- The financial system already imploded in 2008. We've merely been unsustainably kicking the can down the road until another lehman brothers event happens.

Although I'm sure all this meaningless to you. But that's the problem - people have no financial background what-so-ever; and it's this mentality that is going to leave many unprepared for the inevitable 1930's type depression. People aren't taught in schools about how the monetary system works, what inflation is and how the government spends it's money. Something as fundamental as "interest rates" is a foreign concept to many.I bet if i were to ask you where money comes from, you wouldn't have a single clue. If you knew, you'd be outraged.

Unfortunately, i think a lot of it comes down to financial ignorance. People don't give a crap about what the hell is happening in the economy. People are more concerned with masterchef and all the small trivial aspects to life, like the fact that your bus late taking you to work etc. Unfortunately, this is going to be the downfall of society.

I made a video that i think explains the whole crisis really well in under 10 minutes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kz6xG2YtyyE

So what are your thoughts? Naturally this thread was destined to fail.... along with the failure of society.
Bill_Gates
Badges: 21
Rep:
?