Demands of the Timetable... Watch

Austin1
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hi,

I'm a mature student (43) currently studying Access to HE (Biology, Maths, English) in college. I want to go on to Uni next year to read Zoology (1st Choice, Newcastle).

Can anyone give me an insight into the structure and attendance demands of a typical Uni timetable? I'm just trying to plan ahead to resolve any conflicts with my other commitments (work, children etc.) Fortunately I work from home and can be quite flexible with my hours but it's quite hard to get info/example timetables until you are already at Uni. The information seems to be jealously guarded!

I guess my ideal answer would be for a 1st year Zoology student from Newcastle Uni to get back to me on this, but any information would be welcome.

Thanks in advance!
ratherchloe
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by Austin1)
Hi,

I'm a mature student (43) currently studying Access to HE (Biology, Maths, English) in college. I want to go on to Uni next year to read Zoology (1st Choice, Newcastle).

Can anyone give me an insight into the structure and attendance demands of a typical Uni timetable? I'm just trying to plan ahead to resolve any conflicts with my other commitments (work, children etc.) Fortunately I work from home and can be quite flexible with my hours but it's quite hard to get info/example timetables until you are already at Uni. The information seems to be jealously guarded!

I guess my ideal answer would be for a 1st year Zoology student from Newcastle Uni to get back to me on this, but any information would be welcome.

Thanks in advance!
Hi I've just started Biology which shares a common first year with Zoology. The course is pretty full on, unlike other courses we have a lot of contact hours so you'll be in 5 days a week definitely. The timetable changes week to week so I'll just give you a random one:

Mon: 10am-1pm practical, 2pm-3pm seminar