Turn on thread page Beta

Applying Without A-Levels: What are the chances? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi all ,

I am currently a third/final year student of a Diploma in Performing Arts at Sunway University, Malaysia. I am two weeks away from completing my last semester. I am considering applications for English in the UK with my Diploma. I am a Distinction student with an overall average of 75.14%, and my strength lies in theory/essay-based modules offered in the programme like Performance Studies; Thought & Writing; Play & Screen Writing; Script Analysis; Acting & Text; Modern Theatre; Cinema, Modernity & Montage; World Cinema; Theatre Theory, History & Practice; and Media & Communication (along with other practical modules in theatre and film).

I've started this Diploma straight after completion of my O-Levels equivalent (SPM). As a result, I did not acquire the A-Levels/IB qualifications preferred by most UK universities.

May I know what my chances might be to be considered for application?

I know that this is a risky academic qualification, and I am willing to supplement my application with one or two A-Level papers taken from my local British Council (of which I am considering NEC, or plain ol' independent study if possible).

I have no idea what a 75.14% (Distinction) would mean to admissions in UK universities, but as I know of, my Diploma's assessment system is similar to that of UK universities, and I have been told by my Head of Department that my current percentage is considered impressive. I really hope it is!

Apart from my studies, I am always thinking about stories and implementations of literature in various mediums, in the most general sense of the word. I am sure that I will thoroughly enjoy a Degree in English, and would probably be happy spending my entire life sitting in the middle of a circle of heavy tomes. I am awkwardly out of place anywhere else XD.