Jackson v HM Attorney General help! Watch

Rascacielos
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
I'm a first year law student and am trying to do some pre-reading to get a head start. I've come across the case Jackson v HM Attorney General and as my textbook is as clear as mud, I don't understand why it was decided that the 1949 Parliament Act was valid, thus confirming the validity of the Hunting Act 2004.

Could someone explain to me, very simply, what happened?

Thanks
Rascacielos
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Bump!
Maicccccmannnn
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by Rascacielos)
I'm a first year law student and am trying to do some pre-reading to get a head start. I've come across the case Jackson v HM Attorney General and as my textbook is as clear as mud, I don't understand why it was decided that the 1949 Parliament Act was valid, thus confirming the validity of the Hunting Act 2004.

Could someone explain to me, very simply, what happened?

Thanks
It was argued that the Hunting Act 2004 was an invalid form of legislation, because the legislation used to pass it through Parliament - the Parliament Act 1949 - was itself invalid.

The 1949 Act was alleged to be invalid because:

-the 1949 Act was not passed through all chambers of Parliament, and therefore it only amounted to 'delegated legislation'. Delegated legislation cannot be used to extend or restrict any other powers. Because the the 1949 Act was used to further a power - that is, to further the power to restrict Hunting in the UK, the power it furthered, and the legislation which furthered it (the Hunting Act), was invalid.