The Student Room Group

Self Teaching Questions.

First post - be gentle! :smile:

I was doing a levels at a local college a few years ago now but due to my business being successful I quit the course to focus on it full time.

3 years on and whilst I am happy with the business - I want a degree under my belt. So business is all delegated and I have freed up my time to study!

I rang up a local school and entered myself as a private candidate for 6 AQA exams:

MPC1
MPC2
MFP1
MM1B
MS1B
MD01

Am I correct in thinking that this is equal to an AS in Maths + Further Maths? I studied half of these 3 years ago, will just 3 months @ about 40 hours a week be enough to get the knowledge I need to get A's?

Any advice / input is appreciated!

Thank you, Ash
(edited 12 years ago)
Original post by AshF
First post - be gentle! :smile:

I was doing a levels at a local college a few years ago now but due to my business being successful I quit the course to focus on it full time.

3 years on and whilst I am happy with the business - I want a degree under my belt. So business is all delegated and I have freed up my time to study!

I rang up a local school and entered myself as a private candidate for 6 AQA exams:

MPC1
MPC2
MFP1
MM1B
MS1B
MD01

Am I correct in thinking that this is equal to an AS in Maths + Further Maths? I studied half of these 3 years ago, will just 3 months @ about 40 hours a week be enough to get the knowledge I need to get A's?

Any advice / input is appreciated!

Thank you, Ash

Not entirely sure but I do think 3 modules qualifies as an AS qualification. So it seems that you do have 2 AS's here. As for your study timetable. I can't say for you personally, if you are an A student, you will get an A. All down to how good you are at the the subject. Good Luck
Reply 2