Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,

I'm a newbie, I just wanted to ask, does anyone know if we need to know the charges on common ions for AS chemistry? (or will I need to know them next year as well?) :confused:

I've been given a sheet with a load of them on, and I know some you can work out from which group they are in the periodic table, but others you just have to know, so will I need them?

And also, do you have to be able to write ionic equations?

Thank you! xo

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by TaraBelle)
    Hi guys,

I'm a newbie, I just wanted to ask, does anyone know if we need to know the charges on common ions for AS chemistry? (or will I need to know them next year as well?) :confused:

I've been given a sheet with a load of them on, and I know some you can work out from which group they are in the periodic table, but others you just have to know, so will I need them?

And also, do you have to be able to write ionic equations?

Thank you! xo
    1. You don't need to, but if you're at this stage, you should know them off by heart anyway, or at least be able to work them out.

2. Yes

ReputationRep:
    In order to be successful at AS chemistry, yes and yes.

Eventually, you'll just know many of the charges off-by-heart. Ionic equations are explicitly part of the specification so definitely learn them and understand how they're constructed. There were a few relevant questions in the AS exams I did last year so they're pretty important and are an easy way to pick up marks!

Good luck.

ReputationRep:
    I don't know them atm, so I guess I better get learning

I didn't realise ionic equations were on the specification, thanks for pointing that out!

Cheers guys
    • Community Assistant
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Study Helper
    (Original post by TaraBelle)
    I don't know them atm, so I guess I better get learning