The Student Room Group

I'm in a difficult situation with my A Levels, and I need some help...

Hey everyone,

I'll start by explaining my current situation. So this year, I achieved BCC in maths, chemistry and biology A levels; and now I'm studying Economics BSc at Brunel university.

There's a few problems with that ~ I've now been at uni for roughly 2 months, and I really dislike it here. The social and intellectual atmosphere isn't as rigorous as what I'd have hoped for. By this I'm implying I want to go to a better university because I really value my undergrad degree.
I didn't understand this during my A levels, but everything just makes sense now. I can't imagine myself spending my second year here, let alone becoming an alumni of Brunel. A levels were a tough period for me - I didn't study whatsoever, and I consider myself lucky that I have my grades for the effort I put in.

What I want your help with:
It's mid-November now. I haven't really considered this until now, but should I re-take some modules for my A levels and drop out of uni completely? As in, line up all of my exams for June and start asap. I know I didn't have any motivation or mental strength to study then - I was naive and stupid because I couldn't foresee the consequences. However I'm really willing to give it a go now and put my head down.
Do you think it's slightly blasphemous to retake some A level modules while still enrolled at uni?

If I did end up retaking, my intention would be to apply for top institutions of Economics e.g. LSE, UCL...

Alternatively, I am really strongly considering applying to unis overseas. I would really value the opportunity to "expand my horizons", and I don't really mind where, just as long as it's a uni with credible reputation. In this case, I will obviously try to achieve a first class result for my first year and transfer/enter from year 1.