Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm halfway through my second year doing undergraduate law, and I hate the course. I managed to pass my first year with a 2:2 after a lot of studying, and I've found that this year the subjects are even more difficult and even less interesting to me. I don't like the subject and I'm not very good at it.

My first year was absolutely miserable because not only did I have difficulty with my work, but I didn't have very many close friends so my personal life was really bad as well. This year I've found some really good friends and my social life has made me happier, but most of these friends are exchange students who will be leaving at the end of the year, and this makes me dread my third year.

I've been thinking about dropping out and pursuing a business administration degree, with a major in marketing and a minor in media or journalism, hopefully in the United States. I've told my parents, and although they're insistent on me at least finishing this degree, I know they'll be supportive if I feel really strongly about dropping out. They suggest that I finish this degree, work a couple of years in London, and then pursue a Masters in the States. However, I'm not even sure I can finish this degree.

I'm terrified though, because if I drop out I'll have several months here by myself (my apartment contract lasts until the summer) where I'll have to get a job, and I don't even know if the next degree will work out and if dropping out would turn out to be a huge mistake. Not to mention going to the States would be a huge change and I don't even know if I'll enjoy my time there.

I feel like if I continue, I would be able to pass my degree but with a very bad grade, which I don't feel would be worth it. But dropping out would mean months of stress for myself and my parents, and no guarantee that I'll be happy. Anyone have any advice that could help?

ReputationRep: