Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am a third year student at college, and in my first year I made the massive mistake of taking chemistry, maths, biology and psychology. I did ok in biology and psychology and went on to complete psychology at A2 and achieving an A grade. However I completely failed maths and chemistry and got a U in both, hence why I didn't continue or retake any of those exams.

So I decided to take philosophy and sociology up instead and am just doing my UCAS application. I already have one A at A2 level, and as I got A's in philosophy and sociology at AS level, I am predicted overall AAA for UCAS.

I was just about to send of my UCAS when I saw it said I need to include all grades including any I have failed...
    I am guessing this means I have to include maths and chemistry that I took two years ago at U grades....

I am so upset as I feel like this is my last chance to apply to uni and I really want to get into Kent which wants AAA. I feel like I am going to get penalised for my first year at college when I have worked so so hard.

How much do you reckon this is going to affect my application? Any advice would be really appreciated. Thank you

ReputationRep:
    Taking three years to complete your A levels, without extenuating circumstances, can be seen as a negative by some universities - the only time you've encountered a full A level workload is when you failed two subjects.

None of us can quantify how much this will affect your application. Given that the subjects you failed are irrelevant to your degree choice (I presume), it may well be that they will overlook it. It's also not your last chance to apply, so don't pressure yourself with that argument. There's very little you can do to change the situation now, so just wait and see what happens.

ReputationRep: