Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi there I am currently studying Financial Mathematics in a London based uni and I have only recently found out the good news! that masters are free in many Scandinavian institutions if one is an EU citizen. This means I dont have to stress about saving for my masters.

I would want to study a finance related course like Actuarial Mathematics , Financial Mathematics and so on and would want to ask the Danish and Swedish people out there for some advise on:

1)The cost of living in Denmark/ Sweden as opposed to England ie cost of rent, travel (eg bus etc)
    2)I have heard 90% 0f the Danish population can speak average English is this true? ( I am planning to visit this summer both Denmark and Sweden to find out for myself but want to gain some info first)
    3) I know this sounds really stupid but which is easier to learn Danish or Swedish ( i have two years from now till I finish my undergrad)

I have lived in Wales before where most/ all people speak English even though Welsh spoken sometimes. Is this similar to Denmark and Sweden?

Thank you so much!

ReputationRep:
    I'm British, but I've spent a lot of time in Norway, Sweden and Denmark, so I'll chip in.

1) Really, really expensive. Think double London prices, and you're about the right level. A single, one zone bus ticket in Stockholm is £3. A 50cl beer is about £6. This is the main reason why everyone isn't doing Masters degrees in Scandinavia. My WTF moment happened last year in Oslo airport where I saw that the 'meal deal' in the airport was £28 for 2 slices of pizza and a coke (that is expensive even by Norwegian standards though). I don't know about rent, but I can tell you, it won't be cheap.