Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I'm studying for my AS-Levels and am really interested in studying in the US (most likely around Statistics) and I had a few questions to ask people who know more than me

so...

1. I tried some SAT papers and they seemed a bit easier compared to some of the stuff we're doing in my Maths/Further Maths, so I was wondering what level the teaching would be in America?

2. How can I find all the good unis that I might want to go to? I have a few names (Berkeley, North Carolina chapel Hill, Cornell, Duke and Chicago have all stuck out at me) but there are so many that I worry I might have missed a really good one for me?

3. Being away from home - not so much in term time but in holidays etc. (I do NOT want to miss Christmas but flights back and forth can get expensive) so I was wondering if there's anything I can do?)

4. What arguments are there for studying in America (I really like the culture, having been there and my best friend is American) but it's far away from home and probably more expensive (although there is more financial aid and the fee increases in the UK mean it won't be much more), so I really want to be sure that it's for me. Is there any way that I can find out more?

THANK YOU in advance.

ReputationRep:
    anyone?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by cant_think_of_name)
    Hey, I'm studying for my AS-Levels and am really interested in studying in the US (most likely around Statistics) and I had a few questions to ask people who know more than me

so...

1. I tried some SAT papers and they seemed a bit easier compared to some of the stuff we're doing in my Maths/Further Maths, so I was wondering what level the teaching would be in America? in the first year it will mainly be liberal arts requirements, some of which are the equivalent level of A-Levels in the UK, but everything else will be the equivalent to the university work in the UK.