Turn on thread page Beta

When do A Levels get hard? Maths, Physics & Chemistry watch

ReputationRep:
    I am a year 12 student currently studying maths, physics and chemistry at AS, with further Maths next year, and am wondering when these subjects will get hard.
    That's not to say they are very easy at the moment, but I am not finding any of the subjects particularly challenging as yet, and am averaging 90%+ in mock tests we do.
    Is there a massive step up for the summer science exams? Do C3 and C4 get a lot harder than C1 and C2, or is it natural progreesion, like from GCSE to AS Level.

ReputationRep:
    C3 - isn't too much of a step up except Trigonometry, but we did spend lots of time on C3. C4 is ok as far I'm up to (2nd chapter)

Chemistry gets hard at A2

ReputationRep:
    Chemistry doesn't get hard, just awesome

ReputationRep:
    This really depends on an awful lot. Some people won't notice any real difference at any point, some will notice a huge jump from GCSE, some will notice a big jump AS-A2. You'll just have to wait and see!

ReputationRep:
    I haven't found physics hard at all and it does seem to be a natural progression however, this might differ with the person as I find equations easier to thnk about than long wordy things. I also found C3 and C4 a little harder than C1 and C2 but they are building on knowledge raher than going to high and difficult levels.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by LifeIsGood)
    C3 - isn't too much of a step up except Trigonometry, but we did spend lots of time on C3. C4 is ok as far I'm up to (2nd chapter)

Chemistry gets hard at A2
    What gets hard about chemistry? Conceptually more difficult or just more to remember?

ReputationRep:
    I thought the jump from C2-C3 was the biggest.

Physics As-A2 wasnt nice, the final modules an absolute beast too. So much to remember, the exams become like 50% theory, and remembering all the specifics to medical physics is a pain.

ReputationRep: