Turn on thread page Beta

Rugby Union Centre tips? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I am an 18 year old who is 5' 8" and 68kg. I have recently joined a rugby union mens team, and am looking to establish myself at either inside or outside centre. Being fairly stocky, I can hold my own in the tackle and the contact situation, however I am concerned about attack, as it's apparent I am never going to win the strength contest against much larger opponents. I would appreciate any tips or hints on methods of improving my attacking game and breaking down defences without the need to take the ball into contact. I should also add I have played rugby union before, so am not a complete novice to the game. Many thanks!

ReputationRep:
    You just have to become technically better than physical opponents. Practice your kicking & passing, work on moves such as switches, dummy passes etc.

ReputationRep:
    Are there any summer rugby league teams near you where you can play league in the off season? It is great for developing one on one centre skills as you will get a lot of the ball, have a bit more space, and get the practice at stepping, swerving, drawing the man and offloading.

Also if you go to uni its worth joining the league team at uni, it will improve your core skills as an outside back in union.

ReputationRep:
    No I don't think there is unfortunately :/. I always got the impression league was quite a physical game though? Seems like there is more emphasis on taking the ball into contact?

ReputationRep:
    First of all, if you wish to play in the centres in union you have to be prepared to take the ball into contact and also muck in and help the forwards out in the rucks and mauls at the edges of the pitch. If you're not prepared for that go and play touch rugby.

At 5'8 and 68kg you would be coming up against centres much bigger than you, not to say you shouldn't give it a go, but a different position may suit you better (e.g scrum half, although quite technical).