The Student Room Group

Feel like I'm wasting time at uni, but scared to quit!

I'm in second year of Psychology. I was going to drop out after the first year but I passed with quite a good mark so decided to go back. I enjoy uni because I've made loads of friends and actually like going to lectures but I can't help feeling that it's not the right thing for me. I really want to work with children and want to do so many things like travelling and working abroad and feel like I'm wasting time in uni, and also I don't need a degree to do the job I want to do! I feel like if I'd just done an NVQ in Childcare when I left 6th form I could be where I wanted to be by now, and be qualified to do the job I want to do but instead I've got another year and a half of university.

I know it will probably be worth it in the end but I find it SO hard, I'm at the end of my wicks end doing work and just scraping 2.1/2.2s in most of my assignments.
And I know that if I left now I would lose so many friends that I've made and miss out on a lot of opportunities that I wouldn't get.

Part of me wishes I'd left after first year, then I wouldn't have made friends with people this year and wouldn't be halfway through my course now. Maybe it's because I'm in limbo year and just feel like it's dragging. I love uni but want my course to be over and done with so that I can do what I really want to do! Anyone else feel like this?
Reply 1
Personally, I feel that by by completing your degree course the world will be your oyster - you'll then have the option to complete your NVQ in Childcare OR see what else is out there. As for travelling abroad, you can do that whilst you're still doing your degree (maybe in the summer holidays) or you can take a well earned break from education after it :smile:. Because you sound unsure about what you want to do, perhaps it's better to wait until you've got your degree so you can consider all of those options freely without any draw backs.
Reply 2