The Student Room Group

Feedback on A2 English Lit. exam result (AQA LITB3)

Hey guys.

So I was just wondering what other people got for this english paper.
Because apparently, our year is having a problem with this. After we did the exam in January, all of us thought we did well and felt quite confident. But then the results came out today and NO ONE got above a D. And this is not the first time. The same thing happened last year for AS.
I was just wondering if it's a problem that only our college is facing, or if it's actually a nationwide thing?
I'm trying to figure out whether the marking is just very harsh, or that our teachers aren't doing a great job..... Because we work our *** off for this!
(And in case you're wondering: I'm a good student. I got B's for Maths, Human Biology and Business Studies. That's why I'm completely caught off guard by the E from English Literature!)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Hi,
Very likely it is your college since the exam boards award grades to the highest 'raw' mark achievers. i.e. top 5% get a*, 10* get a* or a, top 20% get a*,a or b etc.
Perhaps its the teaching? :confused:
Reply 2
Original post by mazboy008
Hi,
Very likely it is your college since the exam boards award grades to the highest 'raw' mark achievers. i.e. top 5% get a*, 10* get a* or a, top 20% get a*,a or b etc.
Perhaps its the teaching? :confused:

What do you mean by highest raw marks?
It's just really shocking that the whole class only get D's and below. Including me! And I NEVER get grades below B's! :frown:
Reply 3
I was expecting at least a B as well but apparently most of my class did do well (I ended up with a med-high C) so maybe it's your college.
Reply 4
Original post by hanisb
What do you mean by highest raw marks?
It's just really shocking that the whole class only get D's and below. Including me! And I NEVER get grades below B's! :frown: