Leaving university in the second year ... Watch

cymruambyth
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 12 years ago
(I posted this in another forum earlier today but didn't get a response)

Argh, stress!

I'm a second-year student at York university, studying French and Linguistics. It's not been an easy ride for me, firstly adjusting to uni life and then learning how to study independantly. I guess I've not really gotten myself into the working frame of mine while I've been here.

I got good GCSE's and AAA at A-level and was so happy to be going to a top-class university, finally leaving home and making friends. I couldn't wait, I'd be on this forum everyday, asking everything and everything about the uni, but not about the course.

Things have been slipping since my first term at uni. I got a third overall (the first year here counts for a third of the degree). I've been having a **** time of it, trying to motivate myself, trying to make it right. But, no matter how hard I try, no matter how many supervisor meetings I have, I just can't study. It's depressing. I'm not achieving my full potential.

I've been considering leaving York and instead, taking up Japanese and French (or Japanese with something else), at another university. This time, I've actually read up on what the courses entail, and I've phoned the relevant uni's, the ones that offer the courses. They say it's not too late to apply for 2006 entry, provided I apply quickly and call the relevant departments.

Obviously, I've been at York for 1.5 years, a long time just to start all over again. But I really feel like Japanese is the way forward for me. Anyone who knows me would tell you that I have huge ambitions and interests in Japan, the language and the culture. I think a degree in something that I'm passionate about and have researched would be right for me.