The Student Room Group

Dilemma

I'm in my last year at college and I'm finding it very hard, not in terms of work: I'm keeping up to date and getting good grades but keeping up with the stress and everyone else seems really depressed as well. Well basically I got a rejection from my first choice university, where I'd set my heart on around christmas and I was very depressed because I had one rejection and nothing else, as I had to wait 6 months until I heard back from my other unis.

Anyway, my point is that I have this friend and she got into the place where I was rejected from, she got a ll 6 places and she was VERY mean about my rejection: she sent me text messages saying 'wooo I got in!!!! I'm SO happy! It's so great to be me.', basically rubbing my nose in it. Other stuff has happened and she's been irritating me for months - she's very needy, very possessive, she has social problems- for instance I'll be talking to people and she can't let me have my own conversations without not only joining in but hogging them. She's said some very nasty things to me and done very nasty things to me in the past (for instance the other month someone came in to college to give us information and stuff about the uni I really wanted to go to and she heard about it, attended but deliberately didn't tell me even though she knew I had my heart set on going there) and I've felt very angry about it. She's also arranged to go out with people from college and MY best friend not hers and not invited me- then when I've found out, she tells me what a WONDERFUL time they had and 'it was a shame that you didn't come' even though I wasn't invited (!)