The Student Room Group

Will a degree in Economics and English be less respected than straight Economics?

I have always had a passion for English Lit. and would love to do it at university level. However, being an international student, I will be paying nearly £30,000 per year (not including flights back home) and I've heard that English has extremely low graduate prospects and many graduates work in jobs that have no connection with their degree.

People have told me to add something more 'useful' to my degree just as a precaution. The combined honours of English-Economics at St. Andrew's has really caught my interest as Economics has a highly respected and competitive degree and has one of the highest starting salaries after Medicine, Law etc..

However, I've heard that my degree will be less respected as I will be competing against straight English and Economics grads who have a lot of more in-depth knowledge about the subjects than me. I've also been told that the degree will sound 'strange' as both the subjects are so vastly different. For example a degree in Economics and Maths, Economics and Politics and English and French and English and History looks a lot better than English and Economics.

Is is really worth applying for English-Economics?
Reply 1
Economics doesn't necessarily open more doors than English Lit.

As a matter of fact, most economics graduates end up working in generic graduates jobs like accounting, consulting, investment banking, finance roles in corporations which are completely accessible to you as an English Lit graduate (actually you might even have an edge as these firms value diversity of degrees).

The doors that will be closed to you are quite obviously anything that requires economic knowledge such as economic consultant, working for The economist. A phd in economics can also obviously teach economics, work as an economist for international organisations like OECD, IMF, UN, Wold bank etc.