Turn on thread page Beta

Part-time maths tutor watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I want to teach Maths as a private tutor to earn some extra money, how would I go about doing this? Do I need any qualfications etc. ?

Where would you recommend I advertise for a maximum amount of clients? Pricing? Any other details I should give?

Cheers

ReputationRep:
    Bump for help

ReputationRep:
    PM'd you.

ReputationRep:
    Well, to what level of Mathematics have you studied? And what level would you be hoping to teach?
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer
    To start off with, you might be best just doing friends' younger siblings or whatever. Then, when you've got experience there's laods of places like supermakets, post offices, newspapers that you can advertise in.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Wrangler)
    Well, to what level of Mathematics have you studied? And what level would you be hoping to teach?
    I'm a first year maths undergraduate, I've also done one year as a physics undergraduate.

I was hoping to teach upto A2 maths, my plan was to be very cheap, charging only £10-15 an hour due to lack of experience and teaching qualifications.

Juno, have you got any specific examples?

ReputationRep:
    Then I'd say your pitching at around the right level. Assuming you were getting As in your Maths A-Level, you'd be in a good position to pass on some knowledge to those doing A-Levels at the mo.

• PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer
    What do you mean by specific examples? I know all major supermarkets have an advertising board, and post offices usually place adverts in their window (but you might need to pay a small fee). And loacl newspapers have a classified section, but again you might need to pay.

Poll
Were you ever put in isolation at school?
Useful resources

Articles and guides:

Hands typing

Degrees without fees

Discover more about degree-level apprenticeships.