Does anyone else just want a quiet life? Watch

insignificant
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I feel like I'm surrounded by people wanting to climb mountains and move countries for jobs and internships and etc. I'm doing a degree, but after that I just want a small regular job very close to my family, not moving out of my home city.

I just want a peaceful life, I'm very family orientated and don't want to move away. Does anyone else feel this way, or am I just incredibly old fashioned.
loopy786
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
I used to have such big dreams.

Now, I just want to maybe work with a charity or something and learn a few languages and just live an ordinary life. I've decided that the life of people who are trying to get to the top is too ugly and can really decrease the value of important things.

That said, I know I won't be satisfied with not continually working for something, but it's just not worth the eventual trouble, and I'd rather make sure I keep my values intact rather than cast them aside for a short-term burst as an overly successful person.
zara55
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
You aren't "old fashioned" as such, plenty of people a long time ago wanted a life full of adventure whilst others wanted to potter about in their gardens and enjoy lengthy afternoon naps. It's all down to the individual - live the way you want to live.

Also it isn't wrong to care about your family and to want to be near them.