Join TSR now and chat about whatever you’re intoSign up now

first songs to learn on acoustic guitar? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello
    I started playing guitar during 3rd year at high school, but due to instrumental switches dropped it during the int2 course. Now I wish to pick it up again at the end of this exam year, once my highers are done. Can anyone recommend a few good indie tracks which are simple enough for me to start with- then some to progress on to?

ReputationRep:
    Well done for picking it up again! Reminds me to do the same

There's a few simple things I enjoyed playing but it really depends on your taste.

You should try out Sigh No More by Mumford & Sons and also House of The Rising Sun by The Animals. I'm not really sure what your taste is but they're nice and simple songs to give a go. If you prefer poppy stuff, I know that songs by people like Justin Bieber and Lady Gaga are normally fairly easy to acoustically play!

ReputationRep:
    "Into Dust" by Mazzy Star was one of my first ones, as well as various pop songs and a couple of Red Hot Chilis (though their songs can be quite hard). I'd recommend finding a site with various free guitar sheet music and just seeing what jumps out at you - it's a matter of personal taste, really.

ReputationRep:
    I think it's best to learn a song that you like. Just search 'song x chords' on google and just work from there.
    It's much easier to learn a song you know already off by heart than learning a new one

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by holdencauliflower)
    Hello
    I started playing guitar during 3rd year at high school, but due to instrumental switches dropped it during the int2 course. Now I wish to pick it up again at the end of this exam year, once my highers are done. Can anyone recommend a few good indie tracks which are simple enough for me to start with- then some to progress on to?
    Time of Your Life by Green Day is always a good one . . .