Can you guys proof read this letter for me?

Watch
This discussion is closed.
Danithestudent
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 16 years ago
MY ADDRESS
24th February 2004

Dear Sir or Madam,

I am a student currently applying to university and I rely on the postal service to bring me information about confirmation of places and interviews.
Out of the six universities I’ve applied to, five have sent me back information necessary to the process. Unfortunately my first choice the The London Institute didn’t seem to be one of these. Feeling slightly nervous, I thought it would be best to phone them up and make sure they hadn’t forgotten me.
To my surprise they said that I had MISSED my interview on the 19th of February 04 at 9am. I enquired about the letter and they told me it was sent nearly a month beforehand.
So somewhere, in between a post-box in Elephant & Castle and Arundel my letter has disappeared into thin air, taking with it more than a slight chance of acceptance to my first choice university.
Even though this would have bothered me enormously, sadly it was something I've come to accept. Since August many things that have been sent by or have been sent to me have disappeared or been mishandled and the postal service has generally been poor:

4 Birthday Cards-1 with a cheque and 1 with a five pound note for my nephew,
A packet that had been marked Fragile crumpled and covered in grease,
Several personal letters,
My mother is an accountant and sent a tax return in only to find it had disappeared and that the person who’s tax return it was charged a £100 fine by the Inland Revenue,
Our two daily posts have been cut to one and are often extremely late
Varying degrees of damage to letters.

And now this. It’s just not on, you are the Royal Mail and you are in charge of delivering the United Kingdom’s letters/parcels as quickly and as with little damage as possible, that’s why we buy stamps, it's your job!