The Student Room Group

Lost

To cut the story short, I have no idea what I want to study at university. I love photography, and have also considered game design. I was interested in graphic design, however the local universities don't offer such a course and I can't afford to move. There is a university which offers a BFA in Fine Art, however, having never studied art before, I am unsure what to expect. The lack of job prospects is something that my friends are also nagging me to consider if I got an art or design based degree. Would I be taking a bigger risk to study Fine Art, rather than say a more traditional subject such as Law or (insert subject here)?
Reply 1
Are you entitled to a maintenance loan/grant? If so, then I don't see why going to any university would be a major problem.

Study whatever subject will lead you in the career you want to have, no point study a subject you don't enjoy or going into a career you don't enjoy.
Reply 2
Original post by James82
Are you entitled to a maintenance loan/grant? If so, then I don't see why going to any university would be a major problem.

Study whatever subject will lead you in the career you want to have, no point study a subject you don't enjoy or going into a career you don't enjoy.

That is one of the main problems for me... I don't know what type of career I would enjoy doing. I enjoy photography and could see myself going in that direction, but I am constantly being warned that it is a dying industry.

I am interested in design, especially with regard to video games, but many people say that getting a degree in such a subject is useless as it can be self-taught and the job prospects are low. It also doesn't help that I am bad at, and generally dislike, mathematics, as that limits my possibilities in terms of subject choices.
Reply 3
Original post by akaSovereign