This discussion is closed.
1311grant
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
I have been driving for 6 weeks now after passing my test first time, i drive almost every day and i like to think im a good driver and very confident. I drive a 1.0 litre car and im not a boy racer or anything. I have had P plates on my car for the past 6 weeks as my parents have forced me to keep them on, however there becoming more of a hindrance than a help. I think people just see the P plate and automatically think im a terrible driver and ive been overtaken 3 times despite sitting right on the speed limit each time. I've told my mum i think i should take them off now but she says i should keep them on for another 6 MONTHS!!!!:eek:

She says that if i crash my insurance will go up and i won't be getting insured anymore (fair enough) but she seems to think P plates are some sort of thing that makes it impossible to crash! She says that people see the p plates and give you more room and are more considerate (are they FU**). I didn't mind wearing them at the start but now when im out with people and they're like "oh have u just passed?" and im like "no i passed 6 weeks ago" it can get quite annoying. How can i convince her that im probably safer with them off!?

Does anyone else use P plates and do they find them useful and how long did u use them for?

Thanks.
History123
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
My mum advised me to put them on, i told her i wasn't damaging my paintwork, i had paid for the car, insurance and lessons so it wasn't really her choice.

I don't give them more room im just more cautious of them doing stupid things like pulling out or breaking suddenly.